MARC

When did you join the Highball Crew?
January 2017.

What’s your job title at Highball?
I'm part of the Coaching team, so Climbing Coach.

What is your favourite thing about working at Highball?
My favourite thing about working at Highball is coaching young climbers and seeing them grow, learn, and progress in the sport.

What are your climbing goals or projects for 2021?
My main climbing goal for this year is to get back to the standard of climbing I was at in March 2020! Anything over and above that is a bonus.

Favourite Book?
There are so many to choose from, but I would have to say that Catch-22 is one of the best books ever written. Absurd, hilarious, and tragic, it is an anti-war masterpiece.

Hobbies / Interests outside of work?
I enjoy long and complicated strategic board games that last three hours or more. They’re a great excuse to get grumpy and shout at friends over. I also like a nice glass of red wine now and again, preferably a Chilean Cabernet if you’re offering.

Two truths and a lie.
My middle name is Bernard. I have stood for parliament in a General Election. I have only nine toenails.

"I grew up in North Wales and spent a lot of time walking in the hills of Snowdonia, although I didn’t get into climbing until later in life, only starting after my eldest daughter had begun when she was seven years old, and thought maybe I should have a go. Those first few steps on the wall got me hooked, and six months later I was training as an instructor. Seven years on, I finally think I might understand a little of how this climbing lark works.

As a family, we do enjoy being outdoors in lovely places. We try to take a camping trip to the Peak District and to Snowdonia at least once a year. We don’t always get to do much climbing, but the walking in those areas is amazing. I particularly like walking in the Cader Idris area - something I used to be able to do from my back door! Back in 2002, I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to summit Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, an amazing experience that I will never forget.

Away from Highball, I have quite a busy life that is mostly full of children. I have three of my own, two girls and a boy, and I also work part-time and volunteer at a junior school. Other things that keep me busy are books and films/tv, predominantly sci-fi, but I do occasionally switch to other genres. When in the kitchen, I enjoy listening to podcasts and radio shows, usually a mix of comedy, science, and history. I believe I’m a decent enough cook with a few solid recipes, and sometimes bake bread - I’m particularly proud of my focaccia - and make my own pizza dough."